0078: The Food pages : Desserts

0078: The Food pages : Desserts

Oops I did it again?!
After a brief hiatus to recharge, rest and reconnect with family and friends. I am now feeling a little hungry....

While South America has a huge and diverse range of cultures, its food has a unique identity which for me was a little hit or miss at times.

I sometimes didn't feel there was the same diversity in menu or influence from other parts of the world as I had experienced on other parts of my journey.

So, here we have some of the many delicious dishes I ate during my travels though south America.
Again, with descriptions, where I can remember what they were.

Enjoy....

insert

Guatemalan Girls making corn tortillas

insert

Huevos Rancheros in Costa Rica

insert

Fried Squid with plantain

insert

An excellent Ceviche in Ecuador

insert

Most dishes are served with fried green plantain. Usually flavourless on their own, but great for soaking up the sauces and juices from the meal

insert

Coffee beans drying on the roadside in the Andean foothills of Peru

insert

Grilled pork with Manioc, Mote (Maize) and more plantain

insert

Chinese chicken noodle soup

insert

Beef with ginger and spring onions in Jaen, Peru

insert

Pork with beans

insert

insert

Chilis growing in a field

insert

Fish soup for breakfast. Made with a bony river fish called Cashca

insert

Cecina. Air dried pork or beef then fried and served with corn and manioc

insert

insert

insert

insert

A variation on corn dogs, I guess? Sausage and cheese on a stick.

insert

And the end result beautifully modelled by Devora

insert

Lomo Salteado. Beef with vegetables.

insert

insert

insert

Palta a la Reina. Avocado with a tonne of veggies. This was a starter!
In Celendin, Peru

insert

Quinoa for breakfast. Usually flavoured with apple or pineapple juice

insert

insert

insert

insert

The simple pleasure of good bread

insert

insert

insert

insert

insert

insert

insert

Smoked loin of Llama with a pesto dressing

insert

insert

insert

Typical Bolivian breakfast #1
Steak chips and a runny egg. Delicious

insert

insert

Typical Bolivian breakfast #2 a warm sweet corn drink and a fried pastry

insert

insert

A Chirimoya

insert

It has a tangy vanilla, apple flavour

insert

Chile has a lot of fantastic seafood. Given the length of their coastline, its hardly surprising really.

insert

Fillet steak served with a seafood cream sauce

insert

insert

Just a sandwich...

insert

insert

insert

insert

insert

insert

insert

My first Argentine steak. In Mendoza
Was immediately sent back because I though the meat was bad. It turns out the Mushroom sauce was also made with wine, which I really could not stand the taste of.

insert

insert

And the second which was infinitely better!

insert

A small roadside burger

insert

insert

insert

Bife de Chorizo (Fillet beef) in an onion cream sauce

insert

insert

Stuffed red peppers, humbly made by my good self. Coyhaique, Chile

insert

Home made Oat tortillas made by my host in Perito Moreno

insert

insert

insert

insert

insert

insert

So there you have it.
An adventure in food itself.

There are a few dishes that I didn't take photos of, like the stewed intestines in the mountains near Nazca, Peru. But which I really enjoyed.
And photos of the many bananas, Oranges and other fruit the drivers of northern Peru would pass us through the windows of moving cars.
Also, the random strangers in Colombia giving us money, for no reason other than "Go buy some food"
Chicken was as popular in Colombia as Beef is in Argentina. So popular in fact that I ate so much it still makes my stomach turn when I think of it.
Chicken soup, roasted, grilled, fried, boiled, Every possible way. To the point were I simply overdosed. But not through choice.
The same happened in Argentina with the Beef. They serve so much, that its easy to get both sick of it, and to lose the flavour. It was a relief in a sense to arrive in Patagonia and start eating Lamb. This also had a downside as the delicious but fatty meat would have tasted better if I could have finished the meal off with some acidic oranges, lemons or pineapple dessert. But so far south, the cost and quality of the fruit make it not worth the effort.
Still. I'm not complaining. Apart from the fact, the weight I lost during 2 years of travelling has mostly been put back on!

Maybe I need to keep riding?.....

photos